What I saw in the garden…

the other day was a wasp with brightly colored antennae.  No picture of my own, but here is someone else’s.

Spider Wasp:  Entypus unifasciatus

Thanks, What’s that bug , for this photo identifying the spider wasp, Entypus unifasciatus.

I was really struck by the antennae – bright orange, long, and waving about.  Apparently their sting is incredibly painful, so I’m glad I didn’t get any closer than I did.

They are also great hunters, as you can see in the video from this fascinating blog post about tracking a spider wasp dragging a paralyzed wolf spider.  So cool!

Leave a Reply

